About the Award 2019-05-09T15:21:20+00:00

How the Selection Process Works

Since its inception in 1986, the CEO of the Year Nominations for CEO of the Year are garnered from their executive peers. Nominations for the CEO of the Year must be made by another CEO, Chairman or President, and are accepted throughout the year. CEOs must be in their position for a minimum of 5 years to qualify. There is no charge for nominations or participation in any way.

We alert the CEO community to the call for nominations in Chief Executive magazine and in our eNewsletter, CEO Briefing. The 10 most-frequently nominated CEOs are contacted by our editorial team and asked to provide detailed information on company performance and the CEO’s role. Detailed dossiers, including financial metrics, are prepared on the candidates and provided to the members of the Judging Committee.


The 10 most frequently nominated persons are considered finalists. Each finalist is asked to agree to two very modest conditions before he or she can be considered an active finalist. Each must agree, if selected by his or her peers, to receive the award in person at a date and time mutually convenient with the outgoing CEO of the Year. Secondly, he or she must agree to be interviewed for a cover feature in Chief Executive magazine.

The names of active finalists, together with background data on each, are submitted to the selection committee made up of present and sometimes former CEOs. (Each year’s committee members are featured in the announcement article.) Early in the calendar year the selection committee meets in person to discuss the criteria to be applied and makes its ultimate selection.

Chief Executive has no vote in the outcome and accepts the decision of the judges as final. Some time over the summer, Chief Executive hosts a gala celebratory dinner for the incoming Chief Executive of the Year where the outgoing honoree delivers an accolade on behalf of the CEOs who made the selection.

2019 Selection Committee

Judging and selection of a winner is done by a Judging Committee of distinguished peer CEOs in a meeting held in March at the New York Stock Exchange. The 2019 committee consists of:

Ted Bililies, Ph.D., Managing Director and Chief Talent Officer, AlixPartners, exclusive advisor to the Selection Committee

Marillyn Hewson | Chairman, President and CEO, Lockheed Martin Corporation, 2018 Chief Executive of the Year
Dan Glaser | President and CEO, Marsh & McLennan
Neal Keating | President and CEO, Kaman
Fred Hassan | Chairman, Zx Pharma, Partner/Managing Director, Warburg Pincus
Tamara Lundgren | President and CEO, Schnitzer Steel Industries
Max Hitchell | President and CEO, Crane Co.
Robert Nardelli | CEO, XLR-8
Thomas J. Quinlan III | Chairman, President and CEO, LSC Communications
Jeffrey Sonnenfeld | President and CEO, The Yale Chief Executive Leadership Institute, Yale School of Management
Mark Weinberger | Chairman and CEO, EY